Code Explorer: functions alphabetic without separate private

Let us know what you would like to see in the next version of this software

Moderator: kfury77

Forum rules
Please follow these guidelines when posting feature requests. This will help to increase the value of your contribution.

  • Do not create new topics for already requested features. Add your comments to the existing feature request topics instead;
  • Create separate topic for each feature suggestion. Do NOT post a number of non-related feature suggestions in a single topic;
  • Give your topic a meaningful title. Do NOT create topics with meaningless titles, such as "My Suggestion" or "My Problem".

Please note that we DO READ all suggestions, even if a reply is not posted. Thanks!

Code Explorer: functions alphabetic without separate private

Postby sootsnoot » Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:21 am

RapidPHP 14.2.0.186

I don't remember what version changed this (and maybe I'm wrong and the behavior hasn't changed, but I don't think so).

When I see a function call, it's very often the case that I want to see the definition of that function. Most function definitions in my code appear within classes, so I'm looking at member functions defined within a class. The Code Explorer pane is what I use, but it seems to me that I have only two choices for the order of function names shown in the pane:

  1. Source order - all function names ordered by the sequence they are defined in the source, with annotations and fonts signifying visibility and staticness.
  2. Alphabetical order - except that all public functions appear first, followed by all functions with protected or private visibility.

The call site doesn't tell me whether the function is public, private, or protected. So to find the definition I have to look in two separate lists (and the lists are separated by a long list of variables). I find this very counter-productive. I really would like to see a single list of all function definitions in alphabetical order, with annotations and fonts signifying visibility and staticness. If there are users who like the current separate lists (are there any?) then add a third state to the order button (or make it a selection box). For myself, I'd be happy if you just changed the behavior of the alphabetical order not to make separate lists based on visibility, which I think is what the behavior was in earlier versions. If memory serves me right, earlier versions did not mark the names to show staticness or visibility. But when you added the markings (a nice feature), you also split the list into two parts (a mis-feature). I did search the forum as well as a I could, but couldn't find any discussion/requests/complaints about this.

Thanks in advance for considering this.
sootsnoot
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 4:30 am

Re: Code Explorer: functions alphabetic without separate pri

Postby Aivars » Fri Feb 10, 2017 10:30 am

As far as I know this isn't a new behaviour but I think you're right, private and public should be mixed together when sorted. We will consider changing this indeed, but only for the next major version not smaller update (in case someone is used to the current functionality).
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 1958
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Code Explorer: functions alphabetic without separate pri

Postby sootsnoot » Fri Feb 10, 2017 6:35 pm

Okay, great, thanks. Though if there are users who like the current behavior, it might be kinder to them to change the current "choose order" button to have three states, or make it a drop-down selection. (Doing that would also allow the change to be made as a minor update rather than waiting for next major version). But either way, it would be nice for me to have a single list at some point :-)
sootsnoot
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 4:30 am

Re: Code Explorer: functions alphabetic without separate pri

Postby Aivars » Fri Feb 10, 2017 6:58 pm

From all the alternatives adding extra options/checkboxes/items is the worst choice in the long haul, because although it helps to solve the immediate problem effortlessly, it also adds complexity to the software. But sometimes it's the only viable alternative.
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 1958
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia


Return to HTMLPad / Rapid CSS / Rapid PHP / WeBuilder Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron