Improve detection of installed browsers for "Preview in"

Let us know what you would like to see in the next version of this software

Moderator: kfury77

Forum rules
Please follow these guidelines when posting feature requests. This will help to increase the value of your contribution.

  • Do not create new topics for already requested features. Add your comments to the existing feature request topics instead;
  • Create separate topic for each feature suggestion. Do NOT post a number of non-related feature suggestions in a single topic;
  • Give your topic a meaningful title. Do NOT create topics with meaningless titles, such as "My Suggestion" or "My Problem".

Please note that we DO READ all suggestions, even if a reply is not posted. Thanks!

Improve detection of installed browsers for "Preview in"

Postby pmk65 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 2:46 pm

According to Microsoft, installed browsers must register under one of the following keys:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Clients\StartMenuInternet\
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Clients\StartMenuInternet\
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Clients\StartMenuInternet\


Here you can find the "Browser name" under "Capabilities\ApplicationName", the "Default icon" under "DefaultIcon" and the "Path to executable" under "shell\open\command"

The only browser that doesn't follow the guidelines is Internet Explorer, which is missing the "Capabilities" key :D :roll:
There are 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
pmk65
 
Posts: 552
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 9:58 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Improve detection of installed browsers for "Preview in"

Postby Aivars » Tue Jul 18, 2017 2:47 pm

Great suggestion, thank you! I'll write this down.
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2254
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Improve detection of installed browsers for "Preview in"

Postby pmk65 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 7:52 pm

*bump*

WeBuilder 2018 Beta 6, Shows "Opera" as an available browser in "Preview in". But the path points to the chrome executable.
I don't have Opera installed and there's no way to remove it from the list as it's hardcoded.
There are 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
pmk65
 
Posts: 552
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 9:58 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Improve detection of installed browsers for "Preview in"

Postby Aivars » Sat Mar 31, 2018 8:59 pm

New WeBuilder 2018 will use this method to detect any *additional* browsers besides the basic ones. As for why your Opera points to Chrome, I don't know, if we can reproduce it we'll try to fix it.
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2254
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Improve detection of installed browsers for "Preview in"

Postby pmk65 » Sat Apr 07, 2018 3:02 pm

I still have Opera in my list of available browsers in WeBuilder 2018 Final, but Opera is NOT installed on my system.
And I still can't remove it, as it's hardcoded. (Clicking Reset or Auto Detect doesn't help, I can't get rid of Opera)
Why are you adding extra browsers to the list if it now uses the registry entries to get the browser info?

Image
There are 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
pmk65
 
Posts: 552
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 9:58 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Improve detection of installed browsers for "Preview in"

Postby Aivars » Sat Apr 07, 2018 3:33 pm

Right click on toolbars, select Customize and then remove Opera like this:

getridofopera.png
getridofopera.png (29.3 KiB) Viewed 177 times


The reason why we still have the 4 standard browsers is to have reliably predictable browser names and icons for the menu actions.
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2254
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Improve detection of installed browsers for "Preview in"

Postby pmk65 » Sat Apr 07, 2018 9:05 pm

Aivars wrote:Right click on toolbars, select Customize and then remove Opera like this


LOL. Why didn't I think of that. I went into the Edit browser mode, and couldn't find any Remove button there.. :D
There are 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
pmk65
 
Posts: 552
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 9:58 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark


Return to HTMLPad / Rapid CSS / Rapid PHP / WeBuilder Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron