Suggestion: Add Tabs to Message Panel

Let us know what you would like to see in the next version of this software

Moderator: kfury77

Forum rules
Please follow these guidelines when posting feature requests. This will help to increase the value of your contribution.

  • Do not create new topics for already requested features. Add your comments to the existing feature request topics instead;
  • Create separate topic for each feature suggestion. Do NOT post a number of non-related feature suggestions in a single topic;
  • Give your topic a meaningful title. Do NOT create topics with meaningless titles, such as "My Suggestion" or "My Problem".

Please note that we DO READ all suggestions, even if a reply is not posted. Thanks!

Suggestion: Add Tabs to Message Panel

Postby pmk65 » Wed Apr 18, 2018 2:02 pm

Suggestion: Add Tabs to Message Panel

In some cases you don't want the Message Panel cleared or other info displayed.
Like when you use the Project ToDo feature. This output should be on a separate Tab, so you can switch back an forth between this Tab, and the "normal output" Tab.

(It doesn't have to be possible to open a new Tab manually, but an option to select a named Tab in the native code (And maybe also in plugins :))
There are 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
pmk65
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 9:58 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Suggestion: Add Tabs to Message Panel

Postby CEP » Wed Apr 18, 2018 2:48 pm

I agree, good idea,
is it just search results and ToDo lists that share the Messages Panel?
I notice that the container already has tabs there when you have Messages open and also Debug Tools so it may just be a case of adding an extra tab?
CEP
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:49 pm

Re: Suggestion: Add Tabs to Message Panel

Postby Aivars » Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:38 pm

I'll add this to suggestions and we'll try to consider all the implications. Thanks!
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2265
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Suggestion: Add Tabs to Message Panel

Postby Will Fastie » Sat Apr 28, 2018 7:08 pm

I'm not sure I agree that this is a good idea. I think the messages panel should behave the same way a browser console does. I prefer to have all messages in the same place.
Will
WebDesignBuild.biz, Fastie.com
User avatar
Will Fastie
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 6:47 pm
Location: Timonium, MD USA

Re: Suggestion: Add Tabs to Message Panel

Postby Will Fastie » Tue May 01, 2018 3:51 pm

After some thought, I agree that there should be some separation because I believe search results should be separate from any other message output so they can persist as long as possible. I still think message output should be combined.
Will
WebDesignBuild.biz, Fastie.com
User avatar
Will Fastie
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 6:47 pm
Location: Timonium, MD USA


Return to HTMLPad / Rapid CSS / Rapid PHP / WeBuilder Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron