iNet Protector NOT Blocking ANY sites

Post your questions and problem reports here

iNet Protector NOT Blocking ANY sites

Postby SysAdmin-ADAI » Fri Oct 03, 2008 3:29 pm

I have installed the app as admin and as user and placed the launch icon in the all users startup folder.
I set the allowed sites to thr 5 sites we wish to allow.
I set block all except allowed programs.websites and ips
closed the app

Launched IE and it allows any site on the net, does not block anything???????

Seems the software does not function at all
SysAdmin-ADAI
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 3:12 pm

Re: iNet Protector NOT Blocking ANY sites

Postby chrisjlocke » Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:45 pm

Did you set a schedule when the internet should be blocked?
Just highlight the whole block.

Image

and placed the launch icon in the all users startup folder

It should be loading as a service, so this isn't necessary.
User avatar
chrisjlocke
Top Contributor
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: iNet Protector NOT Blocking ANY sites

Postby SysAdmin-ADAI » Sat Oct 04, 2008 9:14 am

I checked it is loaded as a Service in TaskMgr.
If WebBrowsing is NOT an allowed Service then it should be Blocked.
Allowed Services are File & Print Sharing, Remote Desktop.
Blocks are All Except Allowed.

After reading some other posts which Karlis indicated 'Should Work', I added IE as Allowed Program.
Still the user may browse ANY websites.

So this indicates the App is doing nothing but taking up CPU & Memory capacity.
SysAdmin-ADAI
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 3:12 pm

Re: iNet Protector NOT Blocking ANY sites

Postby chrisjlocke » Sat Oct 04, 2008 11:58 am

Thats not a fair assessment of the program. It does its job well - its just you need to configure it correctly to do what you need. There are many happy users of this software, so I argue that it does more than simply take up CPU and memory.

I'm trying to help you, but with comments like that, I'm less inclined to do so.
User avatar
chrisjlocke
Top Contributor
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: iNet Protector NOT Blocking ANY sites

Postby SysAdmin-ADAI » Sat Oct 04, 2008 1:29 pm

Chris, I appreciate your thoughts and comments.
My expectation for an application is that it functions 'Out of the Box' upon install in some fashion, not necessarily perfectly.
My experience in PC's dates back to the beginning - I was a member of the team that invented Hard Drive Kits for the Original IBM PC, there by upgrading the PC to a PC XT for 1/3 the cost from IBM. I've been working on them ever since.
I've read the Help file and am pretty fair at debugging apps.

If it is 'Required' to Set the Time schedule, it should be ON by default.
The advert states '
Key features and benefits

Restrict Internet access automatically at specified times
Password protect Internet connection
Enable and disable Internet on demand
Allow Internet access for a specified amount of time
Allow only specified services or programs such as e-mail
Allow only specified websites
Block websites of your choice
Set daily internet usage limits '

At this point I've spent upwards of 10 hours working this app with no BLOCK effect on IE so, maybe you can see my point of view?
Don
SysAdmin-ADAI
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 3:12 pm

Re: iNet Protector NOT Blocking ANY sites

Postby chrisjlocke » Sat Oct 04, 2008 3:36 pm

Yup, I do see your point, but please also see mine. The software doesn't just do nothing, but its doing 'nothing' due to the current configuration.
Admittedly, this configuration could be better explained, or maybe a wizard could lock it all down for you, but equally, the program is written so the user has complete control over what is blocked, and how.

I don't know the complete ins and outs of this program, so I hope someone else more knowledable can help you. It would be interesting to know whether setting a schedule would sort your issue though. :)
User avatar
chrisjlocke
Top Contributor
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: iNet Protector NOT Blocking ANY sites

Postby SysAdmin-ADAI » Thu Oct 09, 2008 11:46 am

Chris the Scheduler won't work according to this post:

Re: Scheduler combined with allowed sites
by Karlis on Wed Jul 23, 2008 11:15 pm

It is not possible to have schedule combined with allowed sites. Allowed sites are the websites that will be allowed at all times.
Karlis Blumentals
Blumentals Software
www.blumentals.net
Karlis
Site Admin
SysAdmin-ADAI
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 3:12 pm

Re: iNet Protector NOT Blocking ANY sites

Postby chrisjlocke » Thu Oct 09, 2008 12:38 pm

Hmm, OK. When I played with it, I allowed my site and blocked everything else. When I tested it, it allowed everything. When I then set a schedule (which blocks the Internet) it blocked everything, except my site, so I assumed it worked with that.

Sorry I can't help further. Again, I hope a developer steps in to help, as I'm bumbling around in the dark with this program (bet you could tell! ;))
User avatar
chrisjlocke
Top Contributor
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: iNet Protector NOT Blocking ANY sites

Postby Karlis » Thu Oct 09, 2008 10:42 pm

Did you actually click the Disable Internet button (the big button that turns on the protection?) this button must be clicked to turn on/off the restrictions. Changing the Settings won't be sufficient.
Karlis Blumentals
Blumentals Software
www.blumentals.net
User avatar
Karlis
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3586
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 5:24 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia, Europe

Re: iNet Protector NOT Blocking ANY sites

Postby hocombewood » Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:33 pm

HI guys I have bought a five user licence to hopefully sort out my staff problems.

I have blocked some sites in the correct tab setting and clicked on allow everything else. I've also hit the disable internet button and put the schedule all to be blue, but to no avail I can access everything ?

help.........
hocombewood
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:21 pm

Re: iNet Protector NOT Blocking ANY sites

Postby Karlis » Thu Aug 27, 2009 9:20 pm

I did not understand whether you can or can not access anything.
Karlis Blumentals
Blumentals Software
www.blumentals.net
User avatar
Karlis
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3586
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 5:24 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia, Europe

Re: iNet Protector NOT Blocking ANY sites

Postby AdamBuckley » Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:54 am

Hi,

My company is having a similar problem with a computer, we do have several using the service and using it perfectly, but for some reason on this one, we've got our settings the same (we use a registry file for each one so we know it's the same settings that work on other computers) and it's not working.

1) Could it be because the service had been disabled at some point? (we've tried uninstalling and reinstalling, it works every time we reinstall but after a reboot, it stops working) We can't currently access the computer (it's at a remote location so I can't just walk up to it and check this out). I guess the question is, would that setting stay locked in the registery and not be cleared by an uninstall/reinstall?

2) Are there any known programs that could conflict with it?

3) Is there any other known reasons? The current settings are scheduled for it to only open full internet access from 3am - 5am (for updating purposes), and to "allow all except web browsing" but currently this computer can access any website even with the internet disabled.

Thanks
AdamBuckley
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:46 am

Re: iNet Protector NOT Blocking ANY sites

Postby Karlis » Thu Feb 18, 2010 1:41 am

The most common reason (and actually the only reason known by us) is conflict with some other software. It could be anti-virus, anti-spyware, network filtering or any other security software that is blocking iNet Protector either due to poor programming or because it somehow thinks that iNet Protector might be harmful.

Here is the drill:
http://kb.blumentals.net/kb/index.php?V ... EntryID=54

I know this might be difficult to do, but there is no other way.

You should also check that:
1) IProtectorService is set to run on start-up and not manually (normally users should not be able to disable the service, but if you have left security hole allowing them to do so, it might be possible for advanced user to do this). Our knowledge base has an article about securing against this.
2) iNet Protector is not currently compatible with 64-bit systems, check if they have 32-bit Windows installed.
Karlis Blumentals
Blumentals Software
www.blumentals.net
User avatar
Karlis
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3586
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 5:24 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia, Europe


Return to iNet Protector Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron