How to upload my ready menu on free web providers?

Post your questions and problem reports here.

How to upload my ready menu on free web providers?

Postby vipkns » Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:10 pm

Hello, I have a site in Piczo (www.piczo.com) and it dosn't allow me to edit the HTML code directly... So, when I add the HTML code, generated by the program, and upload the buttons given on the same page, the menu does appear WITHOUT the buttons. I added the adress of the pictures
||| <td style="padding-right:2px" title=""><a><img id="cbi_cbinsmenu_1" src="HERE" name="ebbcbinsmenu_1" width="190" height="27" border="0" alt="Software" title="" /></a></td> |||
The button appears then but the submenu isn't there and the mouse-over and push functions are also unactive. I have uploaded all the buttons but I don't know where in the code to add their adress. Please help me!
vipkns
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 11:52 am

Postby kballar3 » Sat Mar 22, 2008 2:54 pm

First, I don't know anything about Piczo.

But, from what I can tell all the images should be in their own directory/folder called "images". If you can create a directory called "images" and put your image buttons there it should work. Keep in mind there are 2 other things located in that directory, cbcscbinsmenu.css and cbcscbinsmenu.js, so they will need to be in that directory too.

If you can't create a directory, but can upload files to the your site, it looks like you can modify the HTML that is generated for the menu. Just put it in notepad and do a search for "images" (search without the quotes). You should see something like this in several different places (there are more than I have listed here, this is just an example):

href="images/cbcscbinsmenu.css"
src="images/ebbtcbinsmenu1_0.png"
src="images/cbjscbinsmenu.js"


It looks like you should be able to remove images/ from the generated menu html, which would leave you src="cbjscbinsmenu.js"> . After you remove those, that's the html you'll want to give Piczo (and don't forgot to upload all your files).

And again I could be wrong, I don't actually own this piece of software yet, I've just been trying it out for a few hours.
kballar3
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 4:29 am

Postby vipkns » Sat Mar 22, 2008 4:33 pm

kballar3 wrote:If you can't create a directory, but can upload files to the your site, it looks like you can modify the HTML that is generated for the menu. Just put it in notepad and do a search for "images" (search without the quotes). You should see something like this in several different places (there are more than I have listed here, this is just an example):

href="images/cbcscbinsmenu.css"
src="images/ebbtcbinsmenu1_0.png"
src="images/cbjscbinsmenu.js"


It looks like you should be able to remove images/ from the generated menu html, which would leave you src="cbjscbinsmenu.js"> . After you remove those, that's the html you'll want to give Piczo (and don't forgot to upload all your files).


It doesn't work... I think that the problem is that the pictures I have uploaded aren't linked to the menu HTML. They upload to a server and just appear on my site. I know their URL and I have already tried to replace it in the HTML code given by the programm. It works, but only for the buttons. I don'know where to replace the URLs of the mouse-on and push buttons, so they simply don't work now.

An other problem is that I cannot upload the other two files, generated by the programm... I can copy their text and add it as an HTML, but I can't upload them like whole files or add them to the HTML code of the site.
vipkns
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 11:52 am

Postby Aivars » Sat Mar 22, 2008 6:22 pm

You need to upload ALL files generated, otherwise it won' t work. Does Pizco provide FTP access or some kind of file manager for the site?
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2374
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Postby vipkns » Sat Mar 22, 2008 7:28 pm

Aivars wrote:You need to upload ALL files generated, otherwise it won' t work. Does Pizco provide FTP access or some kind of file manager for the site?


Can I upload the other files somewhere else and link the menu to them?
vipkns
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 11:52 am

Postby Aivars » Mon Mar 24, 2008 1:31 am

In current version the files need to be located either in the same folder as the page or in a subfolder relative to the page.
If you can host the other files elsewhere, why not just host the whole menu there?
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2374
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia


Return to Easy Button & Menu Maker Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests