display problems

Post your questions and problem reports here.

display problems

Postby bassman592 » Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:31 am

I created a very simple menu structure at http://www.johncwilkinson.com

In Avant Browser 11.7 everything displays perfectly. I use WeBuilder 2008, and it displays perfectly in the preview also.

I only have 2 other browsers installed:

In IE8 there are 2 problems:
1) a horizontal line displays under each button when you mouseover it;
2) the submenus display way higher than the corresponding menu item

In Firefox 3.05 there is 1 problem:
1) a horizontal line displays under each button when you mouseover it

Any solution to this?
bassman592
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 11:49 pm

Re: display problems

Postby Cary » Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:32 am

It looks like the horizontal line is being caused by this, but I'm not sure:

Code: Select all
li a:hover {
display: block;
color: #8B4513;
padding-bottom: 5px;
font-weight: bold;
border-bottom-width: 1px;
border-bottom-style: solid;
border-bottom-color: #C6EC8C;
}
Cary
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 10:41 pm

Re: display problems

Postby Cary » Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:38 am

It's looking okay with Opera 9, though it has the line, Safari 3, IE6 and IE7.

IE8 is still in beta, so you should let Microsoft know about this odd behavior through whatever beta tester report form they have.
Cary
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 10:41 pm

Re: display problems

Postby bassman592 » Tue Dec 30, 2008 7:28 pm

Cary wrote:It looks like the horizontal line is being caused by this, but I'm not sure:

Code: Select all
li a:hover {
display: block;
color: #8B4513;
padding-bottom: 5px;
font-weight: bold;
border-bottom-width: 1px;
border-bottom-style: solid;
border-bottom-color: #C6EC8C;
}


Thanks. I'll play around with the CSS and see if I can fix it.
bassman592
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 11:49 pm

Re: display problems

Postby Karlis » Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:12 pm

There is a bug in IE8 and we would rather like for the Microsoft to fix it than implement a heavy workaround. As for the line problem, I would really need to see a sample as I can not reproduce it on my FF 3 / Vista.
Karlis Blumentals
Blumentals Software
www.blumentals.net
User avatar
Karlis
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3596
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 5:24 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia, Europe

Re: display problems

Postby bassman592 » Mon Jan 05, 2009 8:38 pm

Karlis:

Unfortunately, the forum software won't let me upload an attachment gif file:

"Could not upload attachment to ./files/3606_ef905ec2ab87190515d4ac993a9ca79a."

But the problem I'm seeing (with Firefox 3.05 on Vista Home Prem 64 bit) is a thin yellow underline under each button along the top row when - and only when - the cursor hovers over the button. When the cursor moves off the button, the yellow underline goes away.

If you have IE8, you can see the same behavior, with one interesting twist - the yellow underline appears, but is partially obscured by the drop-down menu (if there is one).
bassman592
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 11:49 pm

Re: display problems

Postby Karlis » Wed Jan 07, 2009 9:38 pm

1) Does this happen with our samples (other menus):
http://www.blumentals.net/buttonmenumaker/samples.php

2) Does it happen only on your web page or regardless the page. If it is your page only, the problem could lie in the CSS so we would need to factor that in.

3) You can try switching between modern and old-style HTML output (Misc -> Use TABLE tags) and see whhether it makes any difference.

4) After checking the above, please send me a screenshot to software[at]latnet.lv

Thanks!
Karlis Blumentals
Blumentals Software
www.blumentals.net
User avatar
Karlis
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3596
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 5:24 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia, Europe

Re: display problems

Postby bassman592 » Thu Jan 08, 2009 4:30 am

I'm sorry - I owe you an apology!

I just discovered that I had a CSS page linked to my home page that contained a bunch of css that I'm not using. I got rid of that, and now the menus work perfectly.

Sorry for the trouble.

Signed,
moron :oops:
bassman592
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 11:49 pm


Return to Easy Button & Menu Maker Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron