Page 1 of 1

Script Error Message

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2010 10:02 pm
by mguyder
OS = Window 7
Web Page Builder = MS Frontpage

I make my menu and save it to "My Website" index.htm

I go to preview the menu and as it is opening in the browser I get an error message with a big Yellow exclamination point:

"An error has ocurred in the script on this page

Line: 1
Char: 1
Error: Invallid Character
Code: 0
URL: file:///C/:/Users/myname/Documents/My%20Web%
20Sites/cbjscbinsmenu0.js

Do you want to contine running scripts on ths page? " YES/NO

How do I fix this.

:oops:
mguyder

Re: Script Error Message

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:03 am
by MikeyB
mguyder wrote:How do I fix this.

:oops:
mguyder


To be honest, impossible to say without seeing it in action. Could be other scripts on your page clashing.

That also looks like an error message from Internet Explorer, which isn't the best at giving script errors, can probably guarantee the error is not at line 1 char 1 in the script! Firefox will give you much better errors.

Please can you put a link to your page showing the error, then we can see what's going on.

Cheers,
Mike

Re: Script Error Message

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 1:48 pm
by mguyder
I have put the menu into "My Website" on my PC. It's when I go to review it I get the error message

Re: Script Error Message

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 10:54 am
by MikeyB
Still can't really help from what little info you have given.
It could be a problem caused by literally anything on your page, even a different script.

Like I said, it's probably 99% that the error is a red herring and not even on line 1 of the script due to the rubbish error reporting you get from Internet explorer.
I know this from my own experiences, basically IE will say error on line 1 char 1 if it hasn't got a clue!

If you can't (or wont) upload it to a website so we can see it, at least try to view it in Firefox to get a real error message in it's error console (Ctrl + Shift + J)

Re: Script Error Message

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 3:45 am
by Karlis
If you could upload the web page with menu, we could take a look. Looks like either you have modified the script or have used some characters or strings in your menu texts that may have broken the javascript. Try inserting a menu from samples and see if it also produces error. This will help to find out whether the problem is related to your particular menu settings.

Re: Script Error Message

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 2:39 pm
by mguyder
Hopefully I can do it this weekend. I had to switch hosting companies.

Re: Script Error Message

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 10:11 pm
by mguyder
I have moved to a new host and I still get the error message when I go to view it on my PC

On my web site www.guyder.com the button icons and sub menus are not showing up.

I cannot seem to center these button either. I want them under the Guyder.com

Re: Script Error Message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 10:57 am
by MikeyB
Lets take a look.

First thing, for such a small piece of HTML there are an awful lot of errors, take a look at the results from the W3C validator: http://bit.ly/caC79N
You only have 69 lines of code (3.9Kb) but 83 Errors and 15 warnings, this is not going to help matters at all.

Have to say i don't get any JavaScript errors in Firefox or IE6, but using the Firebug tool in Firefox I get lots of 404 not found errors.
It can't find any of the JavaScript or image files for the menu, eg:
http://www.guyder.com/cbcscbinsmenu.css
http://www.guyder.com/cbjscbinsmenu1.js etc. etc. all not found on your server.

You've either not uploaded them, or have uploaded them into a folder and not referencing them correctly in your HTML, so the menu JavaScript is never loaded and never executed.

With all your coding errors, even if the menu files were found, there is a big chance that it wouldn't work anyway.

Firefox with the Firebug addon are essential for debugging web pages, if you don't have them get them now, both free!

Re: Script Error Message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 1:39 pm
by mguyder
I do not understand how there can be coding errors.

Please forgive me as I am new to all this.

I am just inserting words, pics into Frontpage as instructed.................

Re: Script Error Message

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 11:35 am
by MikeyB
Hi,

I see you've made some progress with the menu now, appears to be working.

Frontpage should make better code than that, it looks like you may have copy & pasted code into the wrong sections.

The basic structure of a web page is:

<html>
<head>
<title>page title</title>
* scripts go here *
</head>
<body>
* actual page content goes here *
</body>
<html>

I haven't had much time to take a look at your code, but for starters, looking at the source of your page:
You have </head> and <head> on lines 33 and 36 round the wrong way, swap them.

Lines 1 - 14, and 26 - 32 should be after the <head> on line 33

Lines 16 - 25 should be somewhere in the <body> section.

The <link.. on line 61 should also be in the <head> section.

You also need an opening <html> tag at the very top.

That should get you somewhere started to better code, then check it again with the validator at http://validator.w3.org/