Sub Folders

Post your questions and problem reports here.

Sub Folders

Postby germanic42 » Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:37 pm

I have a main folder and several subfolders on my web site. My problem is I do not want to save the images into every subfolder to make the navmenus for each subfolder. The menus are all the same. I'd like to save the images into one folder and use that for all the subfolders. Can this be done?
germanic42
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:29 pm

Re: Sub Folders

Postby Aivars » Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:06 am

You can, actually. Use button "Insert Into Web Page", select "Just Generate HTML code and necessary files", select "I will put files in a *subdirectory*", and choose subdirectory name that corresponds to absolute URI, like "/images" (starting with slash).
Use the generated HTML and make sure to copy the files to that folder on your website :)
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 1957
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Sub Folders

Postby germanic42 » Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:56 am

I tried this method and can't get it to work. Let me try to explain it better.

I have a website with a main directory. In that directory is a page called mainindex. Also in the main directory I have two subdirectories, one called foldera and the other called folderb. In each is a web page, folderaindex and folderbindex.

I would like to use the same navigation image files for all three.
germanic42
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:29 pm

Re: Sub Folders

Postby Aivars » Sat Jan 29, 2011 1:59 pm

I'll try to explain in more details.

When you create your menu, choose export to HTML and make sure to prefix subdirectory name with /, like this:
Image

Then you need to upload the created subfolder to your website in web root, like this:
Image

Notice that my pictures ended up in http://kaitnieks.com/menuimages/ (check http://kaitnieks.com/menuimages/mb_button.gif)

Here are both test pages (created by copy/paste HTML generated with Easy Menu & Button Maker export to HTML)
http://kaitnieks.com/mainindex/menuaindex/menutest.php
http://kaitnieks.com/mainindex/menubindex/menutest.php

The main point is that if you prefix folder name with /, browser won't look for subfolder (i.e. http://example.org/mainindex/menuaindex/menuimages) but for folder relative to site root (i.e. http://example.org/menuimages)

I hope that makes sense. Feel free to ask for more help if it doesn't.
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 1957
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Sub Folders

Postby germanic42 » Sat Jan 29, 2011 9:50 pm

I understand the way the program works now and I have it working.

Thanks,
germanic42
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:29 pm

Re: Sub Folders

Postby reneuend » Wed May 18, 2011 2:52 pm

But you didn't explain "how you fixed it" which makes this whole thread useless for others with the same issue!!!!! :shock:
reneuend
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 9:47 pm

Re: Sub Folders

Postby germanic42 » Wed May 18, 2011 9:13 pm

reneuend wrote:But you didn't explain "how you fixed it" which makes this whole thread useless for others with the same issue!!!!! :shock:


Simple, I followed the directions given. I thought that was implied.
germanic42
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:29 pm

Re: Sub Folders

Postby Aivars » Wed May 18, 2011 10:23 pm

reneuend: Do you see the images I posted in this thread? If not, find out what's blocking them and unblock.
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 1957
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Sub Folders

Postby reneuend » Fri May 27, 2011 12:37 am

I see the images. when I tried entering a forward slash in the subdirectory name field, I get an error message that the character is not allowed. I'm going to redo my work and try again.
reneuend
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 9:47 pm

Re: Sub Folders

Postby Aivars » Fri May 27, 2011 8:14 am

reneuend wrote:I see the images. when I tried entering a forward slash in the subdirectory name field, I get an error message that the character is not allowed. I'm going to redo my work and try again.


Ok, let me know in case there are problems. Maybe you need to update your EBMM version, it's possible that older versions did not allow slash character. If that doesn't help, let me know which wizard exactly you're using (insert into web page or other) so I can test to see if we have missed anything.
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 1957
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Sub Folders

Postby Karlis » Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:06 pm

There is now a knowledge base article about this:
http://kb.blumentals.net/kb/index.php?V ... ntryID=134
Karlis Blumentals
Blumentals Software
www.blumentals.net
User avatar
Karlis
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3586
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 5:24 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia, Europe

Re: Sub Folders

Postby txhillcountry » Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:38 pm

Aivars wrote:I'll try to explain in more details.

When you create your menu, choose export to HTML and make sure to prefix subdirectory name with /, like this:
Image

Then you need to upload the created subfolder to your website in web root, like this:
Image

Notice that my pictures ended up in http://kaitnieks.com/menuimages/ (check http://kaitnieks.com/menuimages/mb_button.gif)

Here are both test pages (created by copy/paste HTML generated with Easy Menu & Button Maker export to HTML)
http://kaitnieks.com/mainindex/menuaindex/menutest.php
http://kaitnieks.com/mainindex/menubindex/menutest.php

The main point is that if you prefix folder name with /, browser won't look for subfolder (i.e. http://example.org/mainindex/menuaindex/menuimages) but for folder relative to site root (i.e. http://example.org/menuimages)

I hope that makes sense. Feel free to ask for more help if it doesn't.


I Don't understand this answer. The two samples given above each have the menu details (links, etc) embedded in them. I want a complete menu that displays on every page of my site that only has to be changed one place. Currently I use PHP include that works, but the editor view is a mess (Expression Web 4). It does work when posted. I thought this presented technique was designed to do what I want, but apparently it can not. Can you help, or do I stay with PHP include?
txhillcountry
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:19 pm

Re: Sub Folders

Postby Aivars » Wed Jul 09, 2014 9:52 pm

Stay with PHP include. Include combined with keeping all image files in a single location is as universal as it gets.
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 1957
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia


Return to Easy Button & Menu Maker Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron