Transparent Buttons for menu

Post your questions and problem reports here.

Transparent Buttons for menu

Postby chrisg_75 » Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:18 am

Hi,

I have tried to use my own buttom image for a menu i am making. I produced a button in photoshop which had a gradient fill from centre outwards to top and bottom going from colour to transparent and saved it as png. Intention to have the button name in the colour portion with the page background blending in to the transparent portion ofthe button.

However, when produced on my web page the transparent portion is white or grey and doesnt blend in with my background. Any help. ?? is it how i saved it in photoshop ?

Hopefully it is possible.

cheers
chris
chrisg_75
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 2:52 am

Re: Transparent Buttons for menu

Postby Aivars » Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:50 am

Did you select Image file format: PNG when you exported the project? GIF files don't support partial transparency and instead are blended with a single (background) color.

If this does not solve it, could you send me the link to page with the menu or the image/menu project files for testing? If you don't want to make these links public, you can send them as private message or via our support system (http://www.blumentals.net/support/wizard.php)
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Transparent Buttons for menu

Postby chrisg_75 » Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:56 pm

Hi

Here is a test page with the menu overlapping the header portion of the background

I originally wanted the menus across this area and as such wanted the buttons to be transparent to show through the background across the top but i had to replace because it wasn't working. I put a copy of the menu over this area again to show you.

http://www.syi.net.au/test1/14DigitalFiles.html

Cheers
Chris
chrisg_75
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 2:52 am

Re: Transparent Buttons for menu

Postby Aivars » Fri Feb 25, 2011 2:22 pm

Are you sure it's not working? This is how I see it:
Image

What browser are you using?
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Transparent Buttons for menu

Postby chrisg_75 » Fri Feb 25, 2011 10:44 pm

that is how i see it also, however, the grey portion of the buttons should not be there, it shoul dbe going from the blue through to transllucent, not the grey transition.
chrisg_75
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 2:52 am

Re: Transparent Buttons for menu

Postby Aivars » Sat Feb 26, 2011 2:50 pm

Can you send me (or put online) the original button image as Photoshop saved it? Thanks.
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Transparent Buttons for menu

Postby chrisg_75 » Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:32 am

PM Sent
chrisg_75
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 2:52 am

Re: Transparent Buttons for menu

Postby chrisg_75 » Fri Mar 11, 2011 12:49 am

Any luck with the button ?
cheers
chris
chrisg_75
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 2:52 am

Re: Transparent Buttons for menu

Postby Aivars » Fri Mar 11, 2011 10:35 am

Yes, fixed, tested & committed - waiting for deployment to website. I will let you know.
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Transparent Buttons for menu

Postby chrisg_75 » Sun Mar 13, 2011 11:47 pm

ok cool
thanks for your help lookf orward to it

cheers
chris
chrisg_75
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 2:52 am

Re: Transparent Buttons for menu

Postby rarmy » Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:52 am

This thread seems to be a good place to ask this...

I usually have colored textures on my web pages, thus would like to make menu's with a border and label, but transparently floating across the background. I see that I can set "Half-Transparent" in the Misc Tab, but is there a way to set 100% transparent???
rarmy
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 6:11 am

Re: Transparent Buttons for menu

Postby Aivars » Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:29 am

Normally in standard webpages fully transparent submenus would look terrible (submenu text would merge with page text and become unreadable) so we have never considered adding this feature.
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Transparent Buttons for menu

Postby Aivars » Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:32 am

However, if you really want to do this or see what it would look like, open CSS file manually (with HTMLPad or any other editor) and find a block like this:

.ebul_mb?????? tr {
background-color: #SOMECOLOR;
cursor: pointer;
font-size: 1px;
}

and change #SOMECOLOR to transparent.
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Transparent Buttons for menu

Postby rarmy » Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:33 am

Aivars wrote:However, if you really want to do this or see what it would look like, open CSS file manually (with HTMLPad or any other editor) and find a block like this:

.ebul_mb?????? tr {
background-color: #SOMECOLOR;
cursor: pointer;
font-size: 1px;
}

and change #SOMECOLOR to transparent.


Seems easier than what I was doing last night...I used the background image as the Button Image, seemed to work, but your right, I have floating text on top of my web-page...no matter what I do, am unable to get a border around the buttons...I think if I can do that it might look better instead of floating text...Hmmm...
rarmy
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 6:11 am

Re: Transparent Buttons for menu

Postby rarmy » Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:48 am

Aivars wrote:However, if you really want to do this or see what it would look like, open CSS file manually (with HTMLPad or any other editor) and find a block like this:

Code: Select all
.ebul_mb?????? tr {
    background-color: #SOMECOLOR;
    cursor: pointer;
    font-size: 1px;
}


and change #SOMECOLOR to transparent.


So...as I look at the css file that goes with the menu, is there a map of menu to css entries??? Was thinkin I have to add a border manually via css...
rarmy
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 6:11 am

Next

Return to Easy Button & Menu Maker Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest