Menu in Explorer v9

Post your questions and problem reports here.

Menu in Explorer v9

Postby deepdene » Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:48 am

Hi Guys,

I've added a new menu onto our website. I tested as thoroughly as I could on Explorer, Chrome and Opera. All appeared to be okay until I switched on my laptop which uses Explorer v9 and all I can now see is a white space where the menu should be.

Can someone have a look and tell me where I've gone wrong or is Explorer v9 the problem. The website is at:

http://www.vp-glasgow.co.uk/news.htm

Cheers, Deepdene.
deepdene
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:37 am

Re: Menu in Explorer v9

Postby Aivars » Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:58 am

This problem appears to be caused by Quirks Mode (your page does not have Doctype specified). Using quirks mode is a bad idea, since every browser can interpret it as it pleases and display the page differently. So the best way to fix this problem would be to add a Doctype to your page. The page might look differently after adding doctype (margins, paddings) and will need to be fine-tuned again, but after that it will look the same in all browsers and that will make future changes a lot easier.
Read about doctypes here: http://webdesign.about.com/cs/doctype/a ... ksmode.htm

Additionally, you have some problems with HTML structure in the page. This does not affect menu directly but it should be fixed nonetheless.You have multiple <html> and <head> and <body> tags, for an example.

I can also offer you quick and easy solution. You can force all browsers to use background images for button gradients, even if browser supports gradients natively. By forcing use of background images, IE won't get confused in quirks mode. If you want to do it, simply remove these lines from menu CSS file mbcsmbpou7.css

Code: Select all
#mbpou7ebul_table div.gradient_button {
  background: -moz-linear-gradient(top, #80A1CA 0%, #5080BE 50%, #2C5C9A 51%, #80A1CA 100%);
  background: -webkit-linear-gradient(top, #80A1CA 0%, #5080BE 50%, #2C5C9A 51%, #80A1CA 100%);
  background: -ms-linear-gradient(top, #80A1CA 0%, #5080BE 50%, #2C5C9A 51%, #80A1CA 100%);
  background: linear-gradient(top, #80A1CA 0%, #5080BE 50%, #2C5C9A 51%, #80A1CA 100%);
}

#mbpou7ebul_table li:hover div.gradient_button, #mbpou7ebul_table li.expanded div.gradient_button, #mbpou7ebul_table li.active div.gradient_button, #mbpou7ebul_table li.itemhot div.gradient_button {
  background: -moz-linear-gradient(top, #2C5C9A 0%, #5080BE 50%, #2C5C9A 0%);
  background: -webkit-linear-gradient(top, #2C5C9A 0%, #5080BE 50%, #2C5C9A 0%);
  background: -ms-linear-gradient(top, #2C5C9A 0%, #5080BE 50%, #2C5C9A 0%);
  background: linear-gradient(top, #2C5C9A 0%, #5080BE 50%, #2C5C9A 0%);
}
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2341
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Menu in Explorer v9

Postby deepdene » Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:04 pm

Thanks for your help, I've removed the two paragraphs from the css file temporarily to get it working. I'll follow your advice when I have time.

Cheers. :D
deepdene
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:37 am


Return to Easy Button & Menu Maker Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron