Down menu works with Firefox, not with Internet Explore

Post your questions and problem reports here.

Down menu works with Firefox, not with Internet Explore

Postby Larsharley » Tue Feb 26, 2013 3:07 am

Built a drop down menu using V 3.2 of Easy Button & Menu Maker. I use Firefox for browser. Uploaded to web @ http://hoteldeparismuseum.org/. The drop down menu work fine with Firefox 19.0. When using Internet Explorer 9 32 or 64 bit, the top row of menu headers show up, but when you hover over a header that has drop downs, the drop down boxes do not show, only the lettering of the drop down boxes shows. Hard to see white lettering on a light blue background. However, if you move the mouse down below a header that has drop downs, the box background shows, along with the lettering, but only one box at a time. Cannot find anything in forum about this problem.
Larsharley
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 7:23 pm

Re: Down menu works with Firefox, not with Internet Explore

Postby MikeyB » Tue Feb 26, 2013 12:01 pm

Hello,

It's related to this thread: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=5922

It's because you don't have a doctype so IE switches to "quirks mode" which basicaly means it behaves like an old browser and so can't display the menus http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quirks_mode

You need a proper doctype depending on which version of HTML you are using so the browser knows what to expect.
User avatar
MikeyB
Top Contributor
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:38 am
Location: UK

Re: Down menu works with Firefox, not with Internet Explore

Postby Larsharley » Wed Feb 27, 2013 12:07 am

Wow, works like a charm. Am sure glad you smart guys can help neophytes like me. I would have never solved this on my own. Many thanks.

Lars
Larsharley
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 7:23 pm


Return to Easy Button & Menu Maker Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron