easy menu maker not yet used menu buttons

Post your questions and problem reports here.

easy menu maker not yet used menu buttons

Postby bhennink » Sat Oct 25, 2014 5:14 pm

Some of the websites I am building for friends are like a living fabric

See http://www.houseofsubmission.nl and http://www.mrskate.nl
Here I want to have all future menu items already available although there is not yet a page behind it.
Is it possible to have the not yet used buttons with a slightly different appearance until an URL is added?
I tried to edit the font color of an individual not yet existing page but then all sub menu's change color.
Is it possible to change the font color of an individual item?
bhennink
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:19 pm

Re: easy menu maker not yet used menu buttons

Postby Aivars » Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:13 pm

You can achieve this by changing HTML and CSS.

E.g., for the link that you want in different color add ID:

Code: Select all
<li class="gradient_menuitem gradient28">
<a title="..." target="_blank" href="..." id="link_to_thing">...</a>
</li>


And then add CSS rule:

Code: Select all
#mbpn2kebul_table ul li a#link_to_thing {
    color: red;
}
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: easy menu maker not yet used menu buttons

Postby bhennink » Mon Oct 27, 2014 8:41 pm

hi Aivars,
Thanks for the fast answer.
I tried to find ID for the submenu buttons, where do I find that?

Or do you mean I need to manually edit the HTML and repeat that after every time I update the menu?
bhennink
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:19 pm

Re: easy menu maker not yet used menu buttons

Postby Aivars » Mon Oct 27, 2014 9:11 pm

You need to edit HTML manually. EBMM does not have a built-in feature to customize colors for a single specific submenu item.
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: easy menu maker not yet used menu buttons

Postby bhennink » Tue Oct 28, 2014 7:05 pm

That is a bit of a bummer:(
This means that with every update I need not only to remove the code for the script at the bottom and the code for css in the top.
Which is no big point for me. But editing individual fields is quite more difficult.
Is this something for a new version? to have some mask color for buttons without link?
That could be feaseable?
bhennink
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:19 pm

Re: easy menu maker not yet used menu buttons

Postby Aivars » Wed Oct 29, 2014 2:20 pm

I will add it to suggestions but I can't guarantee it will be accepted for the next version.

After some consideration I thought of a way to do this without changing HTML, that will work in the modern browsers (IE9+ and all others):

Code: Select all
#mbpn2kebul_table ul li a:not([href]) {
  color: red;
}


It basically adds styles for "a" elements in submenu not containing "href" attribute. Add "#" for those items that should not contain links but also should not be colored.
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: easy menu maker not yet used menu buttons

Postby bhennink » Wed Oct 29, 2014 4:36 pm

That is a nice suggestion!
I will try this later. (weekend I guess) Busy rest of the week;)
bhennink
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:19 pm

Re: easy menu maker not yet used menu buttons

Postby bhennink » Sun Nov 02, 2014 2:29 pm

Hi I tried this, But no change in color for the unused buttons.\
I added # in the link field of buttons with submenu
ad added the CSS in my styles but it remains unchanged :?
bhennink
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:19 pm

Re: easy menu maker not yet used menu buttons

Postby Aivars » Sun Nov 02, 2014 4:44 pm

Did you upload the changes? I'm looking at houseofsubmission.nl and can't see the rule anywhere.
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: easy menu maker not yet used menu buttons

Postby bhennink » Wed Nov 05, 2014 7:23 pm

hi Aivars

Sorry I am rebuilding the sites.
I first did the houseofsubmission.nl and that is live already
Now I am busy with the mrskate.nl site But the work is done on new.mrbert.nl
That is a subdomain of my own site
where I do the testdriving:) If you take a look you can see it is in there
bhennink
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:19 pm

Re: easy menu maker not yet used menu buttons

Postby Aivars » Fri Nov 07, 2014 1:48 pm

In this site you need to change the rule to:

#mbrfzqebul_table ul li a:not([href]) {
color: red;
}

Check source of .css file generated by Easy Button & Menu Maker to see what ID to use for each site (if you need something like this in other sites, too).

Let me know if it doesn't work. I added the rule with FireBug for your site to preview how it will be and everything looks good.
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: easy menu maker not yet used menu buttons

Postby bhennink » Fri Nov 07, 2014 4:55 pm

hi Aivars ,
Great support again. Did not recognized the ID changed.
Now it is nice
bhennink
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:19 pm

Re: easy menu maker not yet used menu buttons

Postby bhennink » Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:57 pm

hi hi Aivars ,
I am affraid the solution is not working on my phone in FF.
if I click in the button "Aktiviteiten"and then click on the button Fetish. the browser tries to open new.mrbert.nl/@ and that gives an error. page not found. In the source I see the #
maybee some solution would be to use the href class="with_arrow"
bhennink
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:19 pm

Re: easy menu maker not yet used menu buttons

Postby Aivars » Fri Nov 14, 2014 6:37 pm

That cannot be... Using href="#" is a standard way of dealing with these things and everybody is using this everywhere... That might be a bug in mobile FF or maybe something hasn't been refreshed? Alternatively you can try <a href="javascript:;">
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: easy menu maker not yet used menu buttons

Postby bhennink » Sat Nov 15, 2014 1:25 pm

hi I tried the site with href="#"
With the other build in browser on my S4 phone with the same result.
The I tried my wife's phone a galaxy S2 with the same result. The url becomes new.mrbert.nl/@
So it is not a refresh issue and not FF related.
I will try the other solution:)
bhennink
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:19 pm

Next

Return to Easy Button & Menu Maker Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest