Connecting to xdebug

Post your questions and problem reports here

Moderator: kfury77

Forum rules
Please try to follow these guidelines. This will help to receive faster and more accurate response.

  • Check the Support section of the corresponding product first. Chances are you will find your answer there;
  • Do not create new topics for already reported problems. Add your comments to the existing topics instead;
  • Create separate topic for each problem request. Do NOT post a number of non-related problem reports in a single topic;
  • Give your topic a meaningful title. Titles such as "A question," "Bug report" and "Help!" provide others no clue what your message is about;
  • Include the version number of the software you are using;
  • This is not an official customer support helpdesk. If you need a prompt and official response, please contact our support team directly instead. It may take a while until you receive a reply in the forum;

Connecting to xdebug

Postby AlanT » Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:01 am

Hi All,

I'm currently testing the new WeBuilder 2015 and I'm having some trouble getting it to work with xDebug.

I have tried both the Blumental-supplied version as well as XAMPP. With XAMPP, I see that xDebug is reported by phpinfo.

xDebug itself seems to be working, as a log file is created whenever I attempt to debug a file in WeBuilder. The problem I'm running into is that it doesn't seem to stop at breakpoints, nor am I able to single-step through the script.

Now, I should mention that at one point, I did have it single-stepping through the file (with XAMPP), and I'm not sure what changed from then to now other than the computer was shut down since then.

There doesn't seem to be an official set of instructions anywhere on how to get WeBuilder and xDebug to work together. And one set of instructions I found on the forum here mentions "mappings" without explaining what is being referred to.

Can someone give a simple, step-by-step set of instructions for getting the debugging process to work? And by simple, I mean something that a newbie (someone who has never written a php script and barely knows what a webserver is) can understand.

Thanks.
- Alan Tutt

We all have the Power.
All we need are the Keys.
http://www.PowerKeysPub.com
AlanT
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:12 am

Re: Connecting to xdebug

Postby AlanT » Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:34 am

In case this helps, here is the xDebug section from phpinfo.

xdebug

xdebug support enabled
Version 2.3.3
IDE Key Alan
Supported protocols Revision
DBGp - Common DeBuGger Protocol $Revision: 1.145 $
Directive Local Value Master Value
xdebug.auto_trace Off Off
xdebug.cli_color 0 0
xdebug.collect_assignments Off Off
xdebug.collect_includes On On
xdebug.collect_params 0 0
xdebug.collect_return Off Off
xdebug.collect_vars Off Off
xdebug.coverage_enable On On
xdebug.default_enable On On
xdebug.dump.COOKIE no value no value
xdebug.dump.ENV no value no value
xdebug.dump.FILES no value no value
xdebug.dump.GET no value no value
xdebug.dump.POST no value no value
xdebug.dump.REQUEST no value no value
xdebug.dump.SERVER no value no value
xdebug.dump.SESSION no value no value
xdebug.dump_globals On On
xdebug.dump_once On On
xdebug.dump_undefined Off Off
xdebug.extended_info On On
xdebug.file_link_format no value no value
xdebug.force_display_errors Off Off
xdebug.force_error_reporting 0 0
xdebug.halt_level 0 0
xdebug.idekey no value no value
xdebug.max_nesting_level 256 256
xdebug.max_stack_frames -1 -1
xdebug.overload_var_dump On On
xdebug.profiler_aggregate Off Off
xdebug.profiler_append Off Off
xdebug.profiler_enable Off Off
xdebug.profiler_enable_trigger Off Off
xdebug.profiler_enable_trigger_value no value no value
xdebug.profiler_output_dir \ \
xdebug.profiler_output_name cachegrind.out.%p cachegrind.out.%p
xdebug.remote_autostart Off Off
xdebug.remote_connect_back Off Off
xdebug.remote_cookie_expire_time 3600 3600
xdebug.remote_enable On On
xdebug.remote_handler dbgp dbgp
xdebug.remote_host 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1
xdebug.remote_log c:\xampp\tmp\xdebug.log c:\xampp\tmp\xdebug.log
xdebug.remote_mode req req
xdebug.remote_port 9000 9000
xdebug.scream Off Off
xdebug.show_exception_trace Off Off
xdebug.show_local_vars Off Off
xdebug.show_mem_delta Off Off
xdebug.trace_enable_trigger Off Off
xdebug.trace_enable_trigger_value no value no value
xdebug.trace_format 0 0
xdebug.trace_options 0 0
xdebug.trace_output_dir \ \
xdebug.trace_output_name trace.%c trace.%c
xdebug.var_display_max_children 128 128
xdebug.var_display_max_data 512 512
xdebug.var_display_max_depth 3 3
- Alan Tutt

We all have the Power.
All we need are the Keys.
http://www.PowerKeysPub.com
AlanT
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:12 am

Re: Connecting to xdebug

Postby AlanT » Sun Oct 25, 2015 8:26 pm

On a related note, I was just trying to add a variable to the watch list and couldn't figure it out. Neither did I find any help in the documentation.

I'm starting to look at other IDEs, and phpStorm is starting to look really good right now. They have tons of videos on YouTube showing how to use the software.

I'm still assuming that I'm missing something, because I will be the first to admit that I'm a amateur in this area.
- Alan Tutt

We all have the Power.
All we need are the Keys.
http://www.PowerKeysPub.com
AlanT
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:12 am

Re: Connecting to xdebug

Postby Aivars » Wed Oct 28, 2015 11:59 am

Let's try the simplest approach first:

1) Use the Blumentals-supplied version
2) Use built in Web Server (Options -> Preferences -> Preview -> Script Preview)
3) Check mappings (Options -> Preferences -> Preview -> Mappings) - make sure that the script you're debugging is not mapped to XAMPP or other server (for now)
4) Enable Listen to external sessions (PHP -> Debug -> Debugger Settings)
5) Right-click toolbars and enable Run and Debug toolbar
6) Make sure Firewall allows everything for WeBuilder (there are connections required for built-in Web Server and PHP debugger)

Now if you add a breakpoint and press Run in the debug toolbar, it should stop at the breakpoint.

Then, if everything works and you want to use XDebug, change mappings and make sure xdebug's session_name is set to "webuilder" or whatever you have configured in Debugger Settings (http://xdebug.org/docs/remote).
Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2374
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Connecting to xdebug

Postby Gorky » Tue Feb 23, 2016 8:42 pm

Please help,
where can I download the Blumentals supplied xdebug?

Thanks
Gorky
Gorky
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:32 pm

Re: Connecting to xdebug

Postby Aivars » Wed Feb 24, 2016 7:05 pm

Blumentals Software Programmer
User avatar
Aivars
Blumentals Software Developer
 
Posts: 2374
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:40 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: Connecting to xdebug

Postby Gorky » Wed Feb 24, 2016 7:42 pm

Thanks :D

Gorky
Gorky
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:32 pm


Return to HTMLPad / Rapid CSS / Rapid PHP / WeBuilder Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest