Bug in Version 4 enterprise with installation folder

Post your questions and problem reports here

Bug in Version 4 enterprise with installation folder

Postby samstern » Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:12 pm

Hi All,

Summery: Installation location default is the root of the drive used to run the installtion program from.

Actual Result: Default installation location of an imported project is the root of the drive you installed the screen saver from.

Expected Result: Screensaver installed to into a sensible location like c:\windows, c:\program files\$program_name or simmiler.

Steps to reporduce:
1) I imported a screen saver I created in Version 3 into version 4 and recreated the exe.
2) I created the installation program.
3) Copy the installtion program to my z:\ drive
4) install file on another computer
5) Note the installtion folder default is "\"
6) find screeen saver and uninstall file are located under z:\saver.scr and z:\uninstall.exe

:(
samstern
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 7:23 pm
Location: Grand Island, New York, USA (Near Buffalo, New York)

Anotehr, simmiler, bug in install location

Postby samstern » Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:44 pm

Summery: If the screen saver is installed to <program files> it does not work.

Expected result: Once program is installed to program files\saver the screen saver should show up in display properties and run when the screen should run (after one minute during testing).

Actual result: The program shows up in display properties during installation. However once you close display properties and reopen it, the screen saver is set to <none>, the screen saver is not listed in the drop down box and the screen saver does not run (XP).

Steps to reproduce:

1) Import a project from Version 3
2) Set the install path to <program files>
3) Set the custom directory to screen saver name (saver)
4) create the installation file
5) install the file on another computer.
6) note that the screen saver exists in display properties.
7) Close display properties and complete installation
8) re open display properties and note the screen saver is now <none> and the screen saver is not listed in the drop down box.
9) note that the proper files are indeed installed under program files\saver\

:oops:
samstern
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 7:23 pm
Location: Grand Island, New York, USA (Near Buffalo, New York)

Postby Karlis » Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:11 am

The first problem is registered and our developer will take a look.

The second one is not a bug, it is standard behavior of Windows, if you want to change screensavers without re-installing them, it is better to install to c:\windows\ Custom directory works good on other systems but on Windows XP the problem you described occurs pretty often.
Karlis Blumentals
Blumentals Software
www.blumentals.net
User avatar
Karlis
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3626
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 5:24 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia, Europe


Return to Screensaver Factory Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron