Bug report: text replacement from cursor replaces all

Post your questions and problem reports here

Moderator: kfury77

Forum rules
Please try to follow these guidelines. This will help to receive faster and more accurate response.

  • Check the Support section of the corresponding product first. Chances are you will find your answer there;
  • Do not create new topics for already reported problems. Add your comments to the existing topics instead;
  • Create separate topic for each problem request. Do NOT post a number of non-related problem reports in a single topic;
  • Give your topic a meaningful title. Titles such as "A question," "Bug report" and "Help!" provide others no clue what your message is about;
  • Include the version number of the software you are using;
  • This is not an official customer support helpdesk. If you need a prompt and official response, please contact our support team directly instead. It may take a while until you receive a reply in the forum;

Bug report: text replacement from cursor replaces all

Postby FrankC » Sat Jul 07, 2018 1:10 pm

My test case: I'm using this file:

Code: Select all
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang="en">
<head>
    <meta charset="utf-8">
    <title>Demo</title>
</head>
<body>
<p>This is an example text.</p>
<p>This is an example text.</p>
<p>This is an example text.</p>
<p>This is an example text.</p>
</body>
</body>
</html>


I put the cursor at the beginning of the second line. I go to Find & Replace and try to replace the words 'example' from the second line onward with another word by ticking the radio 'From cursor'. Result: all 'example's are replaced, also the first instance. I'm using the latest WB version.
Last edited by FrankC on Sun Jul 08, 2018 10:11 am, edited 3 times in total.
FrankC
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 3:28 pm

Re: Bug report: text replacement from cursor replaces all

Postby pmk65 » Sat Jul 07, 2018 6:08 pm

Try posting a screenshot of your Search & Replace dialog. That will help pinpointing the problem.
There are 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
pmk65
 
Posts: 564
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 9:58 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Bug report: text replacement from cursor replaces all

Postby FrankC » Sun Jul 08, 2018 10:05 am

You can see it here: http://prntscr.com/k3vefm (the img tag above the form does not make the image itself appear in this message, so I have to do it this way).

The yellow line highlighting shows that I have put my cursor on the second line. I thus expect that when I click 'Replace All', only the 'example's from the second line onward are replaced, and not the instance in the first line.
FrankC
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 3:28 pm

Re: Bug report: text replacement from cursor replaces all

Postby pmk65 » Sun Jul 08, 2018 9:22 pm

It's because you have the "Wrap at end" checked. Uncheck that and it will work as you expected..
There are 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
pmk65
 
Posts: 564
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 9:58 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Text replacement from cursor replaces all [Solved]

Postby FrankC » Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:28 pm

It indeed does. I don't know whether I ticked that myself in the past or that it is ticked default, but I never noticed it. And if I did, I must have thought it had to do with the line wrapping, not starting all over from the top of the file.

Thanks.
FrankC
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 3:28 pm


Return to HTMLPad / Rapid CSS / Rapid PHP / WeBuilder Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron